Empire State Development Corporation (ESDC)

The mission of Empire State Development is to promote business investment and growth that leads to job creation and prosperous communities across New York State. 

Board of Directors

Julie Shimer, Chair
Welch Allyn, Inc., President and CEO
Confirmed –June 15, 2011

Kenneth Adams, Director
Empire State Development, President and CEO
New York State Department of Economic Development, Commissioner
Confirmed – April 5, 2011

Derrick D. Cephas, Esq., Director
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP, Partner
Confirmed – January 29, 2008
Re-Appointed – May 20, 2009

Paul F. Ciminelli, Director
Ciminelli Development Company, Inc., CEO and President
Confirmed – May 4, 2010

Robert R. Dyson, Director
The Dyson-Kissner Moran Corporation, Chairman & CEO
onfirmed – March 16, 2010

Joyce Miller, Director
Tier One Public Strategies, CEO
Confirmed – May 4, 2010

Benjamin Lawsky, Ex Officio Director
NYS Department of Financial Services, Superintendent
Confirmed – May 24, 2011

Empire State Development Directors are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

ESD Committees

Next ESDC Board Meeting:
Board typically meets the third Thursday of every month.

Board Materials Archive

For more information, contact:
ESD Office of Public Affairs
(800) 260-7313